Although Brian Brown of Grain Valley, Mo., had never been to Selinsgrove Speedway before, he had a connection to the speedway and the final race of the season that was run Saturday. The Jim Nace Memorial 35th Annual National Open was special to Brown because his engine builder, Charlie Garrett, had built engines for Nace’s sprint cars as well. 

At the start of the 30-lap, $8,000-to-win All Star Circuit of Champions 410 sprint car main event, outside front row start Brown outran polesitter James McFadden into turn one. Brown led the field until a red flag on lap three was displayed for Caleb Armstrong who flipped on the back stretch.

The field restarted, but then TJ Stutts flipped in turn four to bring out the red flag again on lap four. No driver injuries were reported. 

Third-place starter Brock Zearfoss was the car on the move when the green flag came back out. Zearfoss was soon third closing in on James McFadden. 

McFadden began to close a straight-away down to car lengths as Brown tried to work through the lap traffic. Brown negotiated the lap cars cautiously while McFadden and Zearfoss pushed as hard as they could to close the gap. Zearfoss made the pass of McFadden for second before McFadden slowed.

McFadden’s car stopped on the front stretch with mechanical issues to bring out the caution on lap 12. The opportunity for Brown to have an open race track on lap 12 was just what he needed. Brown pulled away to a large lead over Zearfoss while Zearfoss battled with fifth-place starter Greg Hodnett. 

Trey Starks started 21st after breaking in his heat race. By the half way mark, Starks, had driven into the seventh spot. 

Brown was just catching the tail of the field again when the yellow flag was presented on lap 21 for the All Star point leader Chad Kemenah when his car came to a stop in turn two. 

Zearfoss knew with only ten laps remaining he would need to make his move on the restart. Zearfoss dove to the inside of Brown in turn one, but Brown was too strong off the outside of the speedway taking the race lead back. 

Brown did catch lap traffic with two laps to go, but this time Zearfoss gained no ground.

Brown led the remaining laps on his way to his first All Star win in the National Open. 

In victory lane Brown credited his crew with their hard work and his sponsors for their support to allow him to come to Pennsylvania to compete. 

“I guess a half mile is to my liking. It’s not the same exact layout as Knoxville, but it has its similarities. I never seen the place before tonight and we were quickest in hot laps here tonight,” said Brown in Victory Lane. “Open air was so important, as it is anywhere, and we were able to take advantage of it tonight.” 

Brown, Zearfoss, and Hodnett were the podium finishers. Anthony Macri finished fourth ahead of Trey Starks. Starks, the night’s Fast Tees Fast Timer over the 40-car field, was the hard charger gaining 16 spots. 

Lucas Wolfe finished in sixth followed Danny Dietrich, Ryan Smith, Jason Schultz, and Tony Stewart. 

Heat race wins went to Tim Kaeding, Blane Heimbach, Ryan Smith, Anthony Macri, while Trey Starks won the B-Main. 

McFadden and Brown won the Dash’s.

410 Sprint Cars – 40 Entries
1. 21-Brian Brown [2]; 2. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss [3]; 3. 27-Greg Hodnett [5]; 4. 39M-Anthony Macri [4]; 5. 44-Trey Starks [21]; 6. 24-Lucas Wolfe [8]; 7. 29-Danny Dietrich [12]; 8. 94-Ryan Smith [10]; 9. 29S-Jason Shultz [17]; 10. 14-Tony Stewart [18]; 11. M1-Mark Smith [13]; 12. 38-Steve Buckwalter [24]; 13. 5-Justin Barger [23]; 14. 41-Ryan Taylor [15]; 15. 3K-Tim Kaeding [9]; 16. 13-Brandon Matus [16]; 17. 95-Hunter Mackison [19]; 18. 10H-Chad Kemenah [6]; 19. 51-John Garvin [25]; 20. 0-Rick Lafferty [22]; 21. 3-James McFadden [1]; 22. 12-Blane Heimbach [7]; 23. 11-TJ Stutts [14]; 24. 17-Caleb Helms [11]; 25. 7C-Caleb Armstrong [20] Lap Leaders: Brian Brown [1-30]
Heat Winners: Tim Kaeding, Blane Heimbach,
Dash Winners: James McFadden, Brian Brown
B-Main Winner: Trey Starks 

Time Trials: 1) 44 Trey Starks 15.995 2) Brian Brown 16.103 3) 10H Chad Kemenah 16.208 4) 27 Greg Hodnett 16.263 5) 11 TJ Stutts 16.320 6) 1Z Dale Blaney 16.333 7) 94 Ryan Smith 16.349 8) 17 Caleb Helms 16.377 9) 3K Tim Kaeding 16.412 10) 29 Danny Dietrich 16.440 11) 3Z Brock Zearfoss 16.453 12) 29S Jason Shultz 16.455 13) 3 James McFadden 16.459 14) 12 Blane Heimbach 16.505 15) 24 Lucas Wolfe 16.509 16) Tony Stewart 16.522 17) 35 Tyler Esh 16.549 18) Rick Lafferty 16.584 19) 39M Anthony Macri 16.586 20) 1080 Jordan Mackinson16.641 21) Justin Barger 16.642 22) Steve Buckwalter 16.649 23) 41 Ryan Taylor 16.656 24) 8M TJ Michael 16.663 25) 7 Kyle Reinhardt 16.668 26) M1 Mark Smith 27) 95 Hunter Mackison 16.696 28) 7C Caleb Armstrong 16.704 29) 91 Anthony Fiore 16.767 30) 33W Michael Walter 16.788 31) 33M Max Stabbaugh 16.801 32) 13 Brent Matus 16.834 33) C4 Jim Shuster 17.057 34) 9C Roger Campbell 17.155 35) 51 John Garvin 17.193 36) 49 Mallie Shuster 17.232 37) 35S Daryl Stimeling 17.298 38) 22 Brandon Spithaler 17.476 39) 10 Joe Kata 17.836 40) 33 Brent Matus 18.760


2017 Hoseheads Series

Google itunes

Download the PA Posse Mobile apps
for iOS and Android!

copyright © 2001-2015