Lance Dewease wired the field from the pole
for an impressive victory in Saturday’s 30-lap All Star Circuit of Champions
Sprints Keith Kauffman Classic at Port Royal Speedway.
The win, behind the wheel of the
Don Kreitz Jr. owned, Dave Brown Sr. wrenched No. 69, was the 101st
of his career at the Port Royal oval and was worth $5,000.
In the kickoff to the Rt. 35
Moon Shine Camo Dirt Late Model Challenge Series, Dylan Yoder of Selinsgrove
scored the $2,000 victory after getting the lead late when leader Jeff Rine’s
motor expired.

The 30-lap Kauffman Classic,
honoring the tracks most prolific sprint car winner and champion in history,
went non-stop with Dewease leading every circuit while putting on an impressive
show in traffic while also narrowly avoiding disaster on two occasions.
Dewease entered the rear of the
field on the sixth circuit of the feature and at times made three-wide passes to
continue moving forward in traffic.
At the halfway point, Dewease
had a 4.760 second lead that grew to 6.748 seconds at the finish.
In the first half of the event,
Dewease slammed into the inside first turn retaining barrier and glanced back
out onto the track but continued on with the lead.
And then late in the event, hard
contact with the lapped car of Doug Esh in the third turn proved to nearly be
his undoing.
In victory lane, the right front
tire of his machine was spewing air from the contact with the wheel bent away
from the tire.
Ryan Smith started third in the
event and motored by second-starter Blane Heimbach on the start to chase Dewease
the entire distance while also fending off challenges, first from Steve
Buckwalter and later from defending Kauffman Classic champion Dale Blaney.
Blaney got around Buckwalter for
third on the 12th lap and reeled in Smith but repeated attempts to
get by for second were unsuccessful.
During the final stages of the
race Blaney’s run stabilized.
Dylan Cisney raced consistently
throughout to ride home fourth with Heimbach slipping to fifth at the finish.
Sixth through 10th
went to Buckwalter, Chad Kemenah, Brock Zearfoss, TJ Stutts and Mike
Heats for the 42 cars went to
Cisney, Blaney, Kemenah and Buckwalter.
The C Main was taken by Brandon
Spithaler while Aaron Ott scored the B Main.
Twin dashes went to Dewease and
Fast time in time trials was set
by Dewease with a lap of 17.559 seconds.
The Moon Shine Camo Series
kickoff super late model feature was a drawn-out affair with numerous cautions
and a red flag hampering the event.
On the initial lap, polesitter
Matt Parks spun in front of the field in the second turn.
Tim Smith Jr. then took the lead
when the first lap was completed bu fourth starter Jeff Rine was quick to motor
by Smith for the lead.
And once in front, Rine jetted
away from the field, entering the rear of the field on the seventh tour.
A yellow flag with eight away
bunched the field finding Dylan Yoder up to second but unable to challenge on
the restart with Smith instead reclaiming second.
Another yellow flag with 10 laps
down again forced a restart and a red flag ensued when three cars tangled in the
fourth corner that found Dave Brouse Jr. ramping up and over two cars, flipping
in the process and landing upside down.
Luckily, there were no injuries
Two more cautions on lap 11 and
on the restart regrouped the field again but Rine was too stout for all
challengers on restarts.
And then just after lap 20 was
scored, leader Rine spewed smoke from his machine as his engine expired, handing
the lead to Rine.
Ironically, Yoder was leading
the first three late model mains of the year at the track only to lose them when
mechanical ills forced him to withdraw from the races.
Chad Hollenbeck took second spot
at the finish followed by Coleby Frye, Tim Wilson and Nick Dickson.
Sixth through 10th
went to Mike Lupfer, 24th starter Trent Brenneman, Rick Singleton,
Chad Myers and Austin Berry.
Heats went to Smith Jr., Wilson
and Yoder.
410 sprints:
C-Main (10
Laps) - Top 2 Transfer
1. 22-Brandon Spithaler [1]; 2. 98T-Joe Trenca
[8]; 3. 9C-Roger Campbell [3]; 4. 8M-TJ Michael [4]; 5. 49H-Bradley Howard [6];
6. 33-Brent Matus [5]; 7. 95-Hunter Mackison [2]; 8. 8S-Trenton Sheaffer [7]; 9.
1080-Jordan Mackison [9]
B-Main (12 Laps) - Top 4 Transfer
25-Aaron Ott [1]; 2. 20-Ryan Taylor [2]; 3. 33S-Curt Stroup [10]; 4. 98-Carl
Bowser [5]; 5. 7C-Caleb Armstrong [11]; 6. 17B-Josh Baughman [3]; 7. 35-Tyler
Esh [9]; 8. 51-John Garvin [4]; 9. 91-Anthony Fiore [7]; 10. 22-Brandon
Spithaler [13]; 11. 98T-Joe Trenca [14]; 12. 13-Brandon Matus [12]; 13. OO-Dane
Lorenc [8]; 14. M1-Mark Smith [6]
A-Main (30 Laps)
1. 69K-Lance
Dewease [1]; 2. 94-Ryan Smith [3]; 3. 1Z-Dale Blaney [6]; 4. 5-Dylan Cisney [5];
5. 12-Blane Heimbach [2]; 6. 38-Steve Buckwalter [4]; 7. 10H-Chad Kemenah [10];
8. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss [9]; 9. 11-TJ Stutts [11]; 10. 55-Mike Wagner [8]; 11.
25-Aaron Ott [21]; 12. 49X-Tim Shaffer [12]; 13. O7-Doug Esh [18]; 14. 17-Caleb
Helms [7]; 15. 27-Greg Hodnett [15]; 16. 20-Ryan Taylor [22]; 17. 7W-Logan
Wagner [14]; 18. 14-Tony Stewart [17]; 19. 33M-Max Stambaugh [13]; 20. 7C-Caleb
Armstrong [25]; 21. 47K-Kody Lehman [16]; 22. 98-Carl Bowser [24]; 23. 44-Joey
Hershey [19]; 24. 33S-Curt Stroup [23]; 25. 8M-TJ Michael [27]; 26. 10-Tyler
Bear [20]; 27. 98T-Joe Trenca [26]
Super late
models, 25 laps: 1. Dylan Yoder, 2. Chad Hollenbeck, 3. Coleby Frye, 4. Tim
Wilson, 5. Nick Dickson, 6. Mike Lupfer, 7. Trent Brenneman, 8. Rick Singleton,
9. Chad Myers, 10. Austin Berry, 11. Matt Parks, 12. Danny Snyder, 13. Jeff
Rine, 14. Tim Smith Jr., 15. Chris Casner, 16. Andrew Yoder, 17. Larry Baer, 18.
Dave Brouse Jr., 19. Tim Gray, 20. Steve Scaife Jr., 21. Jim Yoder, 22. Dan
Green, 23. Andy Haus, 24. Scott Flickinger, 25. Patrick Bryner
DNQ: Hayes
Mattern, Brian Hack

Google itunes

Download the PA Posse Mobile apps
for iOS and Android!

copyright © 2001-2015